You are here

Help Us Attract and Sustain a World-Class Faculty

A Powerful Gift

An endowed professorship is a powerful gift.

It lets you ensure that Johns Hopkins can continue to attract and sustain world-leading thinkers in so many fields, from Barber Professor and Nobelist Adam Riess's work on the expansion of the universe (above and with Thomas Barber at left) to Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and sociologist Kathryn Edin’s work on extreme poverty in the United States. (See also additional stories on this page.)

An endowed professorship lets you bring new emphasis and recognition to a school, department, or area of worklike the Aronson Professorships, joint in the Nitze School of Advanced International Studies and the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, whose recipients will focus on issues in the Middle East.

And it lets you associate your name or another honoree's with the recipient school(s) or subject area, in perpetuity.

An endowed professorship (or a curatorship for our libraries) is also powerful for Johns Hopkins. In addition to the points above, it lets us build and sustain our faculty with assurance, despite the uncertainties of government funding. In the Rising campaign we have set ourselves an ambitious goal of doubling our endowed professorships. We are half-way there and need your help to achieve this important objective. (Please visit our Professorships, Deanships, and Directorships website to learn about the university's professorships throughout our history.)

A Professorship Begins with a Conversation

Johns Hopkins is eager to discuss your ideas for a professorship or curatorship and guide you through the process. To learn more, please contact the appropriate development officer below:

Berman Institute: Andrew Rentschler
Bloomberg School of Public Health: Heath Elliott
Carey Business School: Greg Bowden
Center for Talented Youth: Margaret Walsh
Johns Hopkins Medicine: Steve Rum
Krieger School of Arts and Sciences: Debra Lannon
Nitze School of Advanced International Studies: Kimberle Morton
Peabody Institute: Jessica Lunken
School of Education: Michele Y. Ewing
School of Nursing: Akudo Anyanwu
Sheridan Libraries and University Museums: Sylvia Eggleston Wehr
Whiting School of Engineering: Megan Howie